Galapagos Islands

Ecuador, December 2015

That time … I was disconnected

Now this is a story all about how my life got flipped-turned upside down and I’d like to take a minute just sit right there I’ll tell you how I got disconnected from all signal from the air. Travelling below the equator doesn’t always mean Australia. On one of my birthdays, I decided to travel to the Galapagos with strangers. I landed in Quito passed midnight and at 4 am my trip began. The sleep deprivation led me off my connected flight that I should have stayed on, by accident. But once I got on the land I immediately understood what inspired Darwin.

When I was in high school, I always love biology class but I dreaded learning about evolution. For some reason finches beaks isn’t quite as exciting as the Kreb cycle (nerd alert!). But it was an eye opening experience to watch hundred year-old tortoises.

I always had a fear of open water, so a 5 day trip on a boat with daily snorkeling excursions is perfect. As I lean back on the dinghy and submerged in the pacific ocean, my heart was racing. But when I open my eyes, I became less afraid. The corrals on the rocks, the tropical fishes, and the giant tortoises swimming right beneath me is another sight to be witnessed. Playful sea lions would swim right next to me. At one point, our guide pulls us out of the water to chase after orcas near by. On my birthday, I met two Free Willies. The nights were quiet as I was out of reach from wifi and cellular signals. My birthday ended with a surprise cake and memory to last a lifetime!

 

5_image
Blue-footed booby spotted!
Leave a Reply

